Write code that is easy to change

It’s risen to #1 on my list of things to remember when writing code. When I write something, I want to be able to change it easily and remove it easily. Every single line I write is outdated as soon as I write it, so rather than it being a new addition to the codebase, I view it as a decaying corpse that absolutely must be replaced at some point.

Far easier to remove a corpse that’s already in a bodybag than one which a hundred other fresh corpses rely on to stick around, right?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

